Antarctica: 60 shades of white

anz_logoI’m super stoked to announce that I’m going to Antarctica this summer on the Antarctica New Zealand Community Engagement Program to work with the scientists at New Zealand’s Antarctic base, Scott Base.

Exploring and celebrating 60 years of Scott Base, this project aims to connect new audiences with Antarctica by allowing them to experience the life and work at Scott Base through the eyes of the scientists, explorers and personnel that have been there. Details of the project outputs will evolve over the course of the project but are likely to involve multi-channel immersive video instillation, photography and other online videos.

The working title of the project is “Antarctica: 60 shades of white”. Watch for the hash tag #60shadesofwhite on my Twitter feed

This project will be the subject for my MDes project at Massey University’s School of Design for the next two years and many other outputs beyond that I’m sure. Details of exactly when and how long I ‘m going to The Ice so watch this space for more detail.

I have set up a project page on the site where I will document progress.

HUGE thanks to everyone at Antarctica New Zealand for saying yes!