#insidemysound: Genesis of a new project

Late last year I started a new series of projects under the umbrella title of “Inside my sound”. The projects come under my overall research objective of “celebrating, protecting and educating new audiences on on heritage, culture and environment.” One aspect I am particularly interested in is exploring the role of musicians as kaitiakitanga in our collective whakapapa.

To kick this off I have been working with Wellington musicians Warren Maxwell (from Fat Freddy’s Drop, Trinity Roots, Little Bushmen and now at Massey’s new School of Commercial Music), Thomas Oliver and Louis Baker. This is really just an introductory investigation into the world of these fantastic musicians and the interplay between them as they create. Warren and I have had some great conversations about the similarities in the creative process of visual arts and musicians.

The guys generously let me photograph them during a practice session at home and a recent gig as “Pass the gat” at San Fran Bathhouse. I particularly loved one moment in the green room backstage where they grouped together for some voice warm-ups.

By the way you can see all three playing at this years WOMAD

This is a very quick selection from those shoots.