Egg unveiled!

At long last I can reveal the design of my egg for The Big Egg Hunt (see my previous post for details). Last night it and 99 other eggs were hidden around Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch. Let me know when you find mine – send photos even!

Stranded in Paradice

and here are some pics of me painting it (taken by Lauren O’Hara)

Jason painting egg Jason painting egg

If you want the full rational of what the design is about here it is:

Stranded in Paradise
I interpreted the egg as a symbol of the start of a life – full of promise. Taking that as a start point, I turned my thoughts to my own birth and childhood growing up in Palmerston North – a small town in a small and isolated country during the 70s. During my teenage years I felt our isolation as a double edged sword – providing our unique lifestyle but small and distant from everywhere.

In the design I am represented by a fantail (relatively common in Palmerston North) yearning to take flight and explore the world (represented by the compass rose) but being held back by the isolation and conservatism of 70s life in NZ (the tendrils of paisley wrapping themselves around the bird). The title is a reference to the book of the same name released in 1988, the title of which struck a chord with me as a youth.

This egg is dedicated to the memory of one on the nicest blokes I have had the pleasure of meeting – Nick Linney.

If you haven’t read my previous post – the eggs from The Big Egg Hunt will be auctioned to raise money for Starship Children’s Hospital

Egg at WCC

See it on display in the foyer of WCC just off Civic Square in Wellington
NB Sadly it is not open during the weekend

And you can bid for it on TradeMe – all proceeds to Starship Hospital

Leave a Reply

